Current Feeds & Sports

Virat Kohli Aims to Equal MS Dhoni Record of Most Consecutive ODI Wins As Captain: IND v AUS

Ritam Dutta
24 Sep 2017
Read Time : 7 mins
Virat Kohli Aims to Equal MS Dhoni Record of Most Consecutive ODI Wins As Captain: IND v AUS

India captain Virat Kohli is on his way through various cricketing records, by either spearheading or equaling them. When India play Australia for the third One-Day International (ODI) today at Holkar Stadium, Indore, Kohli will aim to equal his predecessor Mahendra Singh Dhoni's record of most number of consecutive ODI wins as captain. Kohli-led India team is 2-0 up in the five-match ODI series and if the hosts beat the visitors at Indore, then the Indian skipper will fetch his ODI win race without losing a match to nine, the milestone which MS Dhoni achieved in 2008-09.

Earlier India ODI captain MS Dhoni earned 9 consecutive wins during November 2008 – February 2009. Virat Kohli, current India ODI captain already bagged 8 consecutive wins as of today, while India are 2-0 up in 5-match series against Australia.

The team Australia had the world record of most consecutive ODI wins of 21 during January 2003 – May 2003.

Under Kohli's captaincy, India have played 37 ODIs, winning 29 of those matches. The Men in Blue, who are in lethal form, lost an ODI to West Indies at Antigua and since then have remain unbeaten in this format.


Authored By Ritam Dutta

Ritam Dutta is an official partner of "Day On My Plate". He is an entrepreneur in mind and passionate blogger by heart. Moreover, he is also an academician, author, public speaker, investor, and internet personality.


Happy 20th Birth Day, Google SRM got A++ in NAAC, let us check the criteria of NAAC for A++ Letter Grade Did India withdraw from the 1950 World Cup because they were not allowed to play barefoot? US Employees Get Microchip Implant: A Report