Current Feeds & Sports

Can Team India Change History In South Africa?

Ritam Dutta
04 Jan 2018
Read Time : 5 Minutes
Can Team India Change History In South Africa?

After playing at home and familiar conditions over the last two years, Indian team is set to kick off their first assignment of 2018 against South Africa at the Newlands in Capetown from January 5. Team India first visited the Mandela’s Nation during 1992-93 under the captaincy of Md. Azharuddin.

Since then Team India haven’t manage to bag a single Test Series in South Africa. It has been a 25 years drought that can possibly be covered by skipper Kohli this time. Among many team India test captains, only MS Dhoni managed to draw the Test series 2010-11 against proteas at their soil.

India Tour of South Africa
Year Test Series IND Won SA Won Match Drawn Series Won Test Captains
Nov'92 - Jan'93 4 match series 0 1 3 SA Md. Azharuddin
Kepler Wessels
Dec'96- Jan'97 3 match series 0 2 1 SA Sachin Tendulkar   
Hansie Cronje
Nov'01 - Nov'01 2 match series 0 1 1 SA Sourav Ganguly
Shaun Pollock
Dec'06 - Jan'07 3 match series 1 2 0 SA Rahul Dravid
Graeme Smith
Dec'10 - Jan'11 3 match series 1 1 1 Series Drawn MS. Dhoni
Graeme Smith
Dec'13 - Dec'13 2 match series 0 1 1 SA MS. Dhoni
Graeme Smith
Jan'18 - Jan'18 3 match series ? ? ? ? Virat Kohli
Faf du Plessis

The Indian selectors have named a strong 17-member squad for the tour. However, there is the question of selecting the best possible XI as there are a few spots in the playing XI which more than two players are fighting for.

The team combination (6-5 or 7-4) with which the Indian team will go in, the bowling attack (2-2 or 3-1 or either of them with Hardik Pandya providing an extra seam option) are some of the key areas the team management will look to address.

lets look at India's probable playing XI for the first Test at Capetown.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Authored By Ritam Dutta

Ritam Dutta is an dedicated author of "Day On My Plate". He is an entrepreneur in mind and passionate blogger by heart. Moreover, he is also an academician, author, public speaker, investor, and internet personality.


Happy 20th Birth Day, Google SRM got A++ in NAAC, let us check the criteria of NAAC for A++ Letter Grade Did India withdraw from the 1950 World Cup because they were not allowed to play barefoot? US Employees Get Microchip Implant: A Report